We're up for Culture Profile of the Year!

Yes - thanks to your votes Jan & Crew won the Culture Profile of the Month back in November and now apparently we're up for big thing!

All you have to do is cast your vote. The competition is fierce and humbling, but hey - we can do it. Your support is truly great - this is sometimes a hard job and without our fantastic customers we could never have gotten this far.

So - vote! Spread the word! You NEVER know.


Helena on the Edgar Awards!

On 2 May, this year's Edgar Award winners will be announced during a big banquet in New York City (would have loved to have tickets, incidentally). I have read the seven nominees in the Best Novel category and found some real gems, made several new friends, reunited with old ones, and, in a few cases, been mildly disappointed.

2012 World Fantasy Award

Lavie Tidhar has won the 2012 World Fantasy Award for Best Novel for his speculative fiction novel Osama.
Tidhar trumped an impressive shortlist including authors such as Stephen King and George RR Martin and was awarded the prize at a gala event held in Toronto last weekend.

Set in a world without global terrorism, OSAMA follows a private detective hired to locate the obscure author of a series of pulp fiction novels. These feature one 'Osama Bin Laden: Vigilante'. Tidhar explores the post-9/11 global subconscious, mixing together elements of film noir, non-fiction, alternative history and international thriller. The book was inspired by a number of close calls the author has had with terrorist attacks.

The other titles on the shortlist:

World Fantasy Award for Best Collection: Tim Powers - Bible Repairman and Other Stories
World Fantasy Award for Best Antholgy: Vandermeer (Ed.) - Weird: A Compendium of Strange and Dark Stories

Lavie Tidhar  - Osama Tim Powers - Bible Repairman and Other Stories Vandermeer (Ed.) - Weird: A Compendium of Strange and Dark Stories

Man Booker Prize 2011 Longlist

The longlist for the 2011 Man Booker Prize for Fiction - the ‘Man Booker Dozen' - was announced on Tuesday 26th of July. A total of 138 books were considered for the longlist, 13 made the list. They are:

Téa Obreht wins the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction!

Congratulations to Serbian/American author Téa Obreht for winning the 2011 Orange Prize for Fiction with her debut novel The Tiger's Wife!

Orange Prize for Fiction 2011 Longlist

The Orange Prize for Fiction is the UK’s only annual book award for fiction written by a woman. Celebrating its sixteenth anniversary this year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing throughout the world.
Orange Prize for Fiction 2011 

The 2011 longlist:

Syndicate content