British Crime Book of the month

Mystery Book of the Month – February 2024

She said yes to a dinner invitation at her old university. Now she’s a murder suspect… A perfect ”locked-room-whodunnit” murder mystery that will keep you guessing.  // Discuss in the Crime reading group. //  

Mystery Book of the Month – January 2024

DS George Cross has always wondered why his mother left him when he was a child. Now she is back in his life, he suddenly has answers. But this unexpected reunion is not anything he’s used to dealing with. When a disturbing case lands on his desk, he is almost thankful for the return to normality.   The body of a monk is found savagely beaten to death in a woodland near Bristol.

Mystery Book of the Month – December 2023

Welcome to the nightmare Christmas holiday… Jolted from sleep by the ringing of the telephone, Imogen stumbles through the dark, empty house to answer it. At first, she can't quite understand the man on the other end of the line. Surely he can't honestly be accusing her of killing her husband, Ivor, who died in a car crash barely two months ago. As the nights draw in, Imogen finds her home filling up with unexpected guests, who may be looking for more than simple festive cheer. Has someone been rifling through Ivor’s papers?   /  Join the Crime reading group to discuss this book /

Mystery Book of the Month – November 2023

1936, London. A celebrity psychiatrist is discovered dead in his locked study. With no clues, no witnesses, and no evidence of the murder weapon, Inspector Flint, the Scotland Yard detective on the case, calls on retired stage magician turned part-time sleuth Joseph Spector. As he and the Inspector interview the colourful cast of suspects, they uncover no shortage of dark secrets … or motives for murder. An enthralling locked-room murder mystery inspired by crime fiction of the Golden Age, this is the critically acclaimed debut novel by Tom Mead.  

Mystery Book of the Month – October 2023

Welcome to The McMasters Conservatory for the Applied Arts – a luxurious, clandestine college dedicated to the fine art of murder where earnest students study how best to "delete" their most deserving victim.   The campus of this ”Poison Ivy League” college is where you might find yourself the practice target of a classmate – and where one’s mandatory graduation thesis is getting away with the perfect murder of someone whose death will make the world a much better place to live. Prepare for an education you'll never forget.  

Mystery Book of the Month – September 2023

Six contestants. The nation’s favourite baking show. And a prize worth killing for...

Mystery Book of the Month – August 2023

Cornwall, pirates and a good old fashioned murder! When Donna branches out from floristry to private investigation and opens a detective agency, the last thing she expects is to have a murder fall into her lap almost immediately. Especially a case where evidence points to Donna as the murderer! 

Mystery Book of the Month – July 2023

Three rival actresses team up to solve a murder at the stately home of the author who made them famous – only to discover the solution lies in the stories themselves. A contemporary mystery with a Golden Age feel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Jessica Fellowes. ”An absolute treat of a read with all the ingredients of a vintage murder mystery”

Mystery Book of the Month – June 2023

”I was dreading the Cunningham family reunion even before the first murder. Before the storm stranded us at the mountain resort. The thing is, us Cunninghams don't really get along. We’ve only got one thing in common: we’ve all killed someone. When they find the first body in the snow, it’s clear that only a Cunningham could have committed the crime – and it’s up to me to prove it. There are plenty of killers in my family. But only one murderer…”   //  »Join the Crime reading group //

Mystery Book of the Month – May 2023

”And then there is a scream. Ragged and terrified. A beat of silence even after it stops, until we all seem to realise that the Reading Room Rules no longer apply.” Winner of the Crime Fiction Lover Best Indie Crime Novel of 2022